Racine OWI Defense Lawyer
Will My License Be Suspended? Will I Go To Jail? | Kenosha Drunk Driving Defense Attorney
There are serious potential consequences to drunk driving offenses in Wisconsin, including hefty fines, jail time, car impoundment, suspension of your driver’s license and alcohol counseling classes. If you have been arrested or charged with operating while intoxicated (OWI) — also known as driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving under the influence (DUI) — you need to contact me, attorney Robert W. Keller, as soon as possible. You need an attorney who has the experience to represent you.
I am a qualified Wisconsin OWI/DWI/DUI attorney with more than 20 years of experience in criminal defense. I thoroughly understand Wisconsin’s drunk driving laws and have the skills to represent you. I can seek to have your case dismissed due to reasons such as improper administration of field sobriety tests, blood/urine tests or lack of probable cause. I will gather all police reports and talk with the prosecution about any plea deals. We can then discuss together whether taking a plea deal or going to trial is the best outcome for your situation.
If you were arrested for OWI/DWI/DUI, you must discuss your case with me immediately. You only have 10 days to request a hearing to challenge a driver’s license suspension. As your lawyer, I can represent you at the administrative hearing. I can also help you request a temporary license for school and employment purposes.
Consequences Of OWI/DWI/DUI In Wisconsin
Consequences of an OWI or DUI conviction in Wisconsin can include the following, depending on the number of offenses:
- First OWI: $150-$300 fine, six-nine months driver’s license revocation
- Second OWI (within 10 years): $350-$1,100 fine, 12-18 months driver’s license revocation, up to six months jail time
- Third OWI (within 10 years): $600-$2,000 fine, two-three years driver’s license revocation, up to one year jail time
- Fourth OWI (including one or more convictions within five years): felony, $600-$10,000 fine, two-three years driver’s license revocation, up to six years jail time
- Fifth OWI (within 10 years): felony, $600-$10,000 fine, two-three years driver’s license revocation, up to six years jail time
In addition, penalties can include an ignition interlock device being placed on your car. This would require you to blow into a Breathalyzer device to start your car. If your BAC (blood alcohol content) is over .02, then your car will not start. Some drivers are even required to blow in the device while they are operating the car. If your BAC is over the limit, the car will automatically shut down.